Board of Trustees

Apply to be a Board of Trustee Info Packet

McHenry County Conservation District is governed by a board of seven volunteer trustees appointed by the Chairman of the County Board and with the consent of the County Board. Trustees serve a five-year term without compensation.

McHenry County residents who have a passion to protect and preserve the natural communities of McHenry County and have a desire to serve the public are encouraged to submit an application to become a McHenry County Conservation District trustee.

Each year, McHenry County Conservation District Board of Trustees welcomes one to two new trustees who serve for five years under the Conservation District Act. Board members develop long-range plans, establish policy and chart a strategic course and direction for the preservation, education, and recreational use of the county’s natural and cultural resources. Trustees arrive with the desire to serve the taxpayers and the passion to protect and preserve the flora and fauna entrusted to the district by the citizens of McHenry County.

Interested candidates should submit completed application to the County Board office, McHenry County Government Center, 2200 North Seminary Avenue, Woodstock, IL 60098. Interviews are conducted by the County and appointed by the County Board Chairman, with approval of the County Board, appoints Trustee no later than June 1 of each year.  Selected trustees will serves a 5-year term; beginning July 1 of the selected year.

Conservation District Board of Trustees serve without compensation in a non-partisan role and work to develop long-range plans, establish policy and chart a strategic course and direction for the preservation of education and recreational use of the county's public natural and cultural resources. Conservation District Board members serve as guardians of public funds and are entrusted to be good stewards and make wise use of taxpayer resources.

The requirements for trustees are simple: a resident of McHenry County, a registered voter, and have a demonstrated interest in the district. In addition, trustees cannot hold any other political office and or be officers of a political party. Trustees' backgrounds have included environmental initiatives, development, law, education, financial and agriculture.

To contact a member of the Board of Trustees, please direct correspondence to:

c/o McHenry County Conservation District
18410 US Highway 14
Woodstock, IL 60098

or to their direct emails below:

McHenry County Conservation District Board of Trustees 

henning
John Henning
 (Marengo)
JHenning@MCCDistrict.org
President
Term: 7/1/2017 - 6/30/2022

brandt
David Brandt
(Wonder Lake)
DBrandt@MCCDistrict.org
Vice President
Term: 7/1/2016 - 6/30/2021

cook
Bill Cook
 (Ringwood) 
WCook@MCCDistrict.org
 Treasurer
Term: 8/20/2019 - 6/30/2023

campbell
Carolyn ‘Lyn’ Campbell (Crystal Lake)
CCampbell@MCCDistrict.org
Secretary
Term: 7/1/2017 - 6/30/2022

fritz
Patrick Fritz
(Harvard)
PFritz@MCCDistrict.org
Trustee
Term: 7/1/2019 - 6/30/2024

board_thomas1
Linda Thomas
(Bull Valley)
LThomas@MCCDistrict.org
Trustee
Term: 9/17/2019 - 6/30/2024

Chris Dahm (Greenwood)
CDahm@MCCDistrict.org
Trustee 
Term: 9/15/2020 - 6/30/2025

elizabeth kessler
Elizabeth S. Kessler
, MBA, CPRE
EKessler@MCCDistrict.org
Executive Director

McHenry County Board Liaison
Kelli Wegener
kawegener@mchenrycountyil.gov